Fun Sized Fitness: Do Numbers Matter?

transformation
From when I first started on this fitness journey to October 2015 (when I was at my lowest weight), I had dropped a total of 15 kilograms. I was at my lightest and smallest then. Ecstatically, I brought armfuls of clothing to my tailor to get them sized down. Overall, I estimated I had dropped 3 dress sizes, depending on which brand we were looking at. One of my biggest fears was I wouldn’t be able to maintain my weight and would not be able to fit into any of the work clothes I had gotten tailored.

With the weeklong festivities of Chinese New Year and my dear friend, Cristin, visiting me from out of town, my regular clean eating habits were thrown out the window. Even after the holidays were over, my eating habits never fully returned to the way they were as my work schedule got the best of me. I started to indulge more food-wise. Gradually, the numbers on the scale started creeping back up. BUT, my clothes were fitting better than ever before and I was feeling fitter and more energetic than ever before? Why was that?

It’s very simple. Muscles. Over the past year, I had built muscle which not only slimmed me down, but also increased my base metabolic rate. This means that even if I didn’t work out on a particular day, I still burned more calories than I would’ve before. And muscle is denser than fat, which meant that a particular volume of muscle would weigh more than the same volume of fat.

But honestly, numbers don’t really matter. Your energy levels, your emotions, how you feel about yourself are much more important than any stupid number. At the end of the day, we should all accept and love our bodies for being healthy and strong and propelling us to do wonderful things with our lives.


I stand by the importance of staying active. If possible, I like to be in the gym at least 4-5 days a week. But what if you are absolutely crunched on time? Chobani was wonderful enough to provide some tips on how you can easily burn 100 calories anywhere. My personal favorite is to just put on some music and dance around the house. Guilty pleasure song of the moment to rock out to? Cake by the Ocean by DNCE. Also, visit the Chobani – Simply 100 site for more tips on how to get delicious and healthy snacks for only 100 calories. Chobani was my yogurt of choice when I was still living in the US. If they were available in Taiwan, my life would be complete.

One thought on “Fun Sized Fitness: Do Numbers Matter?

Leave a Reply

