Looking Back on 2015

Every holiday season, I have a tradition of reviewing the past year and setting some goals for the incoming year. Here’s what I wrote for 2014.

2015 was a big big year for me. In many ways, it was rough. But in many other ways, it was full of blessings and growth. I quit my first full-time job out of grad school at the end of January. It was a toxic environment and I really wanted to pursue interpreting and translating. In February, my family and I went on a two week holiday to Lake Tahoe and Las Vegas. That was probably the last family vacation we would have in a long time as I was already planning to move back to Taiwan and my brother was getting ready to finish up school and fulfill his military responsibilities. In March, April, and May, I accepted a few amazing interpretation assignments with a prestigious investment firm in Los Angeles, Herbalife, and Berkshire Hathaway – Warren Buffet’s company.

In August, I packed up my whole life and moved back to Taiwan. It was hard to leave the nice cushy life I had in LA, a nice house in the suburbs and a nice car, both provided by the parentals, but it was something I had to do. I needed to assume full responsibility for my career and my life. The transition wasn’t as hard as I played it up to be in my mind. A good majority of my close college friends were still in Taiwan and I was able to quickly make new friends.

2015 was the year of many relationship firsts for me. I had my first of a few heartbreaks, many first dates, my first ghosting experience, my first dumping-someone experience, and many others. This was a year in which I learned about a lot of about others and a lot about myself. I learned to always listen to my gut, to not give a shit about what other people think, and never take people you truly love for granted.

I’ve decided not to set any resolutions for 2016. A more realistic approach would be to set actual qualitative goals every quarter. I’m just going to keep an open mind and see where this year takes me. I’m looking for more opportunities to learn and grow and to embark on even more exciting adventures. Hope all of you have an amazing 2016!

Leave a Reply

