Banana Bread and Chocolate Chip Cookies for Christmas

Baking relaxes me. When I didn’t have to go into the office this week, I decided to bake up a storm. My go-to recipes are banana bread and chocolate chip cookies. I decided to take some to a couple that I’m friends with as a Christmas present. They happen to manage a cooking Facebook page and deemed my baked goods good enough to be featured!

banana_bread

Click on the picture for a link to the Facebook page

I’ve made banana bread and chocolate chip cookies from various recipes over the years. The recipe I use today is a combination of these various recipes with a few of my own modifications. I hope you enjoy!

Banana Bread

Ingredients:
-2 cups flour
-1 teaspoon baking soda
-1/4 teaspoon salt
-1/2 cup butter
-1/2 cup brown sugar
-2-3 eggs
– 2 1/3 cups mashed overripe bananas

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F/175C.
  2. Cream together the butter and sugar.
  3. Add bananas and mash. Add 2 eggs and mix well.
  4. Add flour, baking soda, and salt. Mix well.
  5. If the mixture is too dry (there seem to be clumps of flour that are not mixing well), add in the third egg.
  6. Pour mixture into a lightly greased pound cake pan. (I just dip a pastry bush into some room temperature butter and apply it on the pan)
  7. Bake at 350 F or 175C for 45 mins. If you insert a chopstick into the middle and it comes out clean, that means it’s done
  8. Let it sit in the pan for 10-15 mins. Remove from pan and let cool.
  9. Slice and serve

Chocolate chip cookies

Ingredients:
-2 1/4 cups flour
-1/2 teaspoon baking soda
-1 cup unsalted butter
-1/4 white sugar
-1/2 cup brown sugar
-1/2 teaspoon salt
-2 teaspoons vanilla extract
-2 large eggs
-1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F/175C
  2. Mix butter and both sugars together with an electric beater on medium until fluffy.
  3. Add salt, vanilla extra, and eggs on low for one minute.
  4. Add flour and baking soda and mix until well combined.
  5. Add chocolate chips and mix until dispersed evenly.
  6. Lightly grease a baking sheet. Please large tablespoon sized balls of dough onto the sheet about 1 inches apart.
  7. Bake for about 15 minutes. Remove, place on wire rack, and let cool completely.
3 thoughts on “Banana Bread and Chocolate Chip Cookies for Christmas

  1. paulettemotzko says:

    That’s a great recipe. I love baking too and also have a cooking site http://www CookingUpaStormWithMissPolly.com.

    In your recipe there’s a typo for chocolate chips. Instead it says “chocolate cookies”. I am sure you’ll want to correct it. I know I’d want to know if one if my recipes had a typo in it! Merry Christmas and God bless you. My nick name is Polly Motzko.

      • paulettemotzko says:

        You are so welcome. I do proofing as one of the services I offer with Totally Inspired PC. I write everything from resumes, PowerPoint presentations, advertising, and web content. I have 13 web blogs on WordPress. I just got a notice I can’t upload any more photos. WordPress says I maxed our my data and they want $99 a year from me. Just went along with my rather lackluster Christmas.
        I went to church last night and it was great seeing the cute kids dressed up in costumes as Mary, Joseph and the shepherds and angels. Made Me SMILE.

        Paulette Le Pore Motzko

Leave a Reply

