Beach Day in the Bay Area

When I was in the Bay Area last week, the boyfriend took Friday off and took me down to Pacifica and Half-Moon Bay. We rented a car and drove down from Oakland. Pacifica is a little town, a little run down, but not without its own particular brand of charm. The beach was deserted. Only a few stray dog walkers wandered along the sand. The temperature was perfect. It felt like summer was upon the Bay Area.

funsizedasian_pacifica_2

funsizedasian_Pacifica_1

funsizedasian_Pacifica_3_

The boyfriend wanted to take a cheesy photo of me pointing at something far off in the distance. I refused but he still managed to trick me into a point-into-the-distance pose which he managed to snap with his phone. I refuse to acknowledge the existence of those photos.

After we walked around the pier, we drove to Half Moon Bay. It’s a quaint little place, much like a typical small town America. It reminded me of Carmel, which I frequented while living on the Monterey Peninsula, with its little artisan stores.

By then, it was mid-afternoon and we had a hankering for some food. The boyfriend’s co-worker had recommended a place with an excellent view; the Moss Distillery has a KILLER burger with a hearty, juicy patty. The view was also well worth the visit. There was outdoor patio seating, but it was too windy that day, so we decided to sit indoors.

funsizedasian_Pacifica_4

After lunch, we walked down to the beach in hopes of seeing some sea lions. The tide had just gone out, uncovering, in its wake, a large tide pool. I had long been convinced that had I not chosen to become a interpreter/translator, I would have been a marine biologist. My experience with the tide pool proved this conviction to be true. I was fascinated with the little creatures the water had left behind. hermit crabs and snail-like creatures clung to the wet, cold sand. I also saw many a sea anemone that quivered and shrank upon touch. I even saw a sea anemone with a crab(?) claw in its mouth. I later discovered that they prey on crabs. Check out this video and prepared to be fascinated! I’m just glad that I didn’t poke any of them with my finger.

funsizedasian_Pacifica_5_

funsizedasian_Pacifica_6_

When I looked up, I saw there were a few little fins in a shallow area of water between the tide pool and the beach. At first, I thought it was probably a few sea lions. But then I realized the water there was far too shallow to allow a sea lion to be submerged (it was about 2-3 feet deep). I walked a little closer to see what it was and….. it was a dozen leopard sharks!! After I stood at the edge of the tide pool and observed them for a bit, they swam even closer to the beach. So we walked back to the beach to watch them even more. It was so cool! They were literally 2 feet away from me. I could have waded into the water and touched them if I wanted to. Maybe it’s time to consider a graduate program in marine biology…

funsizedasian_Pacifica_7_

funsizedasian_Pacifica_8_

If you are ever in the Pacifica area, be sure to check out the Moss Distillery and the awesome tide pool!

Photos: Taken by me on my HTC One X or by my boyfriend on his iPhone 4S

5 thoughts on “Beach Day in the Bay Area

  1. Arielle says:

    I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

Leave a Reply

