Making a Difference in a Little Girl’s Life

funsizedasian_worldvision

One day during my first year of grad school, I was overcome with a sudden urge to sponsor a child through World Vision. It has been almost two years since I started sponsoring Aminata. She has, since, turned eight years old and sent me a few letters and drawings. She has written me about a younger siblings and how she helps her parents with chores. The drawings I’ve first received two years ago were indecipherable shapes that resembled lopsided laboratory beakers. Now, she sends me drawings of intricate floral patterns, colored in, hopefully, by the colored pencils I sent her.

A while back, instead of paying rent to my parents, they suggested I donate it to the charity of my choice. And I chose to send it to help Aminata and her community in Mali. In response, they sent me a picture of her and everything they purchased using the money I had sent. Besides from the books, shoes, daily necessities, little Aminata was pictured holding on to a mama goat and baby goat, smiling shyly at the camera.

Sponsoring a child only takes $35 a month. What may seem like a small sum to those of us living in the first world and constantly whining about their #firstworldproblems, is enough to not only support Aminata’s whole family but also help people in her community. It has been an absolute joy to exchange letters with this little girl and be a part of her life. One of my biggest wishes is to visit her in Mali before she ages out of the system at 16.

It’s never too late to sponsor a child (or two). Click here to find out more!

Lastly, I will leave you with the video of Aminata that made me choose her to sponsor out of the hundreds of other children on the World Vision website. She is adorable.

Photo and video courtesy of World Vision. (Sponsors were not permitted to publicly share these photos and videos until recently.)

4 thoughts on “Making a Difference in a Little Girl’s Life

  1. fallenjumi says:

    What a sweet story and it’s amazing what a difference we can make in another’s life with so little. 🙂

    How does it feel having sponsored Animata? Do you look forward to her letters. Do you write to her in English?

    • Joan Wang says:

      I love getting letters from her. The official language in Mali is French but I don’t know if she speaks/is taught French. The letters I receive are first in French and then roughly translated into English. I assume they are dictated by a World Vision volunteer. Although I do know a little French, I usually write to her in English. I wouldn’t want my poor French to be mistranslated!

Leave a Reply

