New Year, New Me

Last year, I wrote a blog post on my New Year’s resolutions expectations. Now that 2014 has come and gone, I thought I would do a little year in review and see what goals I have for myself in the new year.

2014 Expectations:

1. Exercise at least four days a week.
I did get on the working out bandwagon during the second half of the year. And it was one of the best decision I made all year. I felt stronger, more energetic, and was overall in a better mood. Even though I didn’t blog as much, I did start a series called “Fun Sized Fitness,” where I capture my thoughts on eating better and working out.

2. Eat well. Make good choices.
This sort of connects with my first expectation. I did eat a lot better during the second half of the year. I very little simple carbs and very little meat. I loved to get my protein from egg whites, avocado, and salmon. I ate a lot of vegetables and fruits and I especially enjoyed quinoa. I cut out almost all beverages besides water, but I still occasionally indulge myself. I actually started eating better before I started working out and I noticed the pounds dropped right away. After I’ve been eating healthy for a while, I notice that I don’t occasionally crave junk food as much. And I don’t get as much satisfaction from eating junk food as I used to.

3. Reconnect with God. – Pray and read the Bible more often.
This is a goal that I, sadly, was not able to achieve. It is a constantly struggle for me. I try to go to church as often as possible to serve as a reminder that I do need to work on my spiritual life, but it doesn’t always work. I find myself not turning to God as often as I should, not spending enough time with him. I also need to read His Word more often. This shall be one of the goals that I carry into the new year.

4. Graduate and pass all my professionals.
Goal accomplished! I successfully completed all of my studies and received my Master’s Degree in Conference Interpretation. I was not able to pass all of my professional exams the first time around, but I did pass everything during the retake. This was one of my biggest accomplishments of the year and it has been a goal of mine since I was a little girl.

5. Find a kick ass job.
This one is a little tricky to judge. I did land two well-paying job offers in April, one of which I accepted. But after I started working for a while, I realized not only was the job not something I didn’t love and enjoy, but the company atmosphere and morale was also lacking. But it does pay well and I’m extremely fortunate to have landed a job offer even before graduation. Some of my fellow graduates didn’t land a job until recently.

6. Smile!
I would like to think I did a lot of this in 2014!

7. Tell my friends and family that I love them. Often.
Accomplished!

8. Be thankful.
I am/was extremely grateful for all the great things that came my way in 2014. Even the hardships and difficulties were there to serve a purpose and I’m thankful for all the things they taught me.

9. Be healthy, be happy.
2014 was a great year for me! 🙂

Now that 2015 is upon me, it is time to set some new goals.

1. Continue being healthy and fit
I want to continue my fitness routine of doing Pilates everyday. I also want to add in an occasional cardio and weightlifting workout. I also want to continue eating healthy and want to explore different recipes.

2. Expand my freelance career
I’ve realized that my true passion lies in freelancing. So this year, I plan to really strengthen my freelance career.

3. Learn to code
Coding is apparently the new skill to have. I’ve been looking into various coding websites and I’ve decided 2015 is the year that I will learn how to code.

4. Improve my Chinese
This was one of my goals when I was still in school. But now that I’ve graduated, I’ve realized my Chinese still has a long way to go. This year, I aim to read more in Chinese and, hopefully, more ancient Chinese text.

5. Read more
I read a lot when I was younger. But as I got older, other things got in the way and I haven’t found the time to sit down and really finish a book. But this year, I aim to read more books, especially the classics. First on my list? Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

6. Spend more time with my loved ones
This is always important for me!

7. Take risks
I’ve always like to hedge my bets on sure things. But this year, I want to step out of my comfort zone. I’m not getting any younger, if I don’t take risks now, when will I ever?

Here’s to 2015. May it be a great year for you and your loved ones!

One thought on “New Year, New Me

Leave a Reply

