Thanksgiving

My Thanksgiving weekend was spent in the Bay Area with my boyfriend and a few of my friends from graduate school. After sitting around at work with nothing to do because all of my clients had already gone on vacation, I was finally able to hoof it out of my office at 3pm on Wednesday afternoon. Traffic on the way to LAX was said to be horrible. But I listened to my trusty Google Maps app and avoided most major freeways. Ah, what would the modern human do without technology?

Thanksgiving celebrated in style with dinner at the Frank’s house. Even though I lived in the US so many years as a child, I’ve never had a real Thanksgiving dinner before 2012. My family never really celebrated Thanksgiving and we never did the whole turkey, mashed potato, pie spiel. In 2012, I went home with my friend Heather to celebrate Thanksgiving. And her mom pulled out ALL the stops. 2014 was no different. I shall let the photo speak for itself.

Tksgng2014_1

Tksgng2014_2

Tksgng2014_3Thanksgiving was already a cheat food day for me so I had to limit my portions, or else I would have gone back for seconds and thirds. There was turkey, brussell sprouts, sweet potato, mashed potato, gravy, cranberry sauce, creamed corn, shrimp salad, spinach salad, stuffing, Chinese stuffing, pumpkin pie, pecan pie, sweet potato meringue pie, AND LUMPIA! Lumpias are Filipino spring rolls and they ARE THE BOMB. Heather’s mom makes all of them herself and they were freshly fried when we got there. Food heaven in that house, I’m telling ya.

Tksgng2014_4 Tksgng2014_5And of course, Thanksgiving wouldn’t be complete without good company. It was nice to spend some time with my friends from grad school again. And of course, a whole weekend with my boo! Yes, I know I look like a midget standing next to him.

Even though I try to do this as much as possible, I took a moment to reflect on all the things and people in my life that I was thankful for. 2014 has treated me well and I hope to end the year with a bang! Hope everyone had a wonderful and restful Thanksgiving as well!

Photos: all taken on my HTC One X phone

Leave a Reply

