Chicken Wings

Wings_1 When I was younger, I didn’t understand why my mom got mad when we gobbled up her food in 10 minutes. We thought it was a sign of how much we loved her cooking. She thought we should have spent more time on some thing that took her over an hour to make. When my boyfriend came to stay with me for 3 weeks, I finally understood what she was talking about. I would come home from work, spend 1 – 1.5 hours making dinner, and he would finish eating within 20 minutes. But I loved cooking for him. One night, I decided to to make him his favorite food, chicken wings! Wings_2

Ingredients:

  1. Chicken wings (15 or so)
  2. Green onions
  3. Ginger
  4. Garlic
  5. Coke
  6. Soy sauce

Wings_4 Heat up your pan. I use a large one. Don’t add any oil, the wings will naturally release oil when heated. Spread out the wings in the pan and let the heat work its magic! Wings_5 Flip the wings every 45 secs to let both sides even out nicely. Do this about 4-5 times until you don’t see any more red in the wings and most of the wings are a nice golden color. You should see the oil in the pan (as pictured here.) Wings_3 Take the wings out and toss in your ginger, garlic and green onions. Noticed how these weren’t super finely chopped? That’s because they are only there for seasoning, not for actual consumption. But the boyfriend loves garlic so I tossed in a few extra for him. Sauté this until a nice aroma rises from the pan. Toss in the wings. Wings_6 Pour in about 2/3 can of Coke and 4-5 tablespoons of soy sauce. The mixture should just cover a little more than half of the wings. Periodically flip the wings so both sides are even soaked in the yumminess. I usually give each side 2 minutes before I flip. Wings_7 After a while, the wings should get significantly darker and the mixture should start drying up. Keep the heat on until mixture is almost gone. Turn the heat off, plate, and serve! I like to serve my wings with some rice, and a few veggies dishes. DSC_0017 Enjoy! Photos: Taken with my Nikon D90

Leave a Reply

