First Time (Full) Spa Experience

Lumnia_1

I’m a big fan of massages. There’s a nice little (cheap) massage place that I like to go to in downtown Monterey. But the BF didn’t like the fact that all the masseurs in the place are middle-aged Chinese men. So for Christmas, he gave me two gift cards to a high-end spa in a hotel. I didn’t get around to using until this morning. And OH MY GOD, IT WAS HEAVENLY. Honestly, if I were filthy rich, I would get massages all the time.

I’ve never had a full-on spa experience before. There have been spa “open house” days where you pay a small fee and you get to try out different treatments. But this time, I was going to get the whole deal. Exciting! I arrived half an hour early to spend some in the outdoor Jacuzzi.

Lumina_2

After spending 20 minutes in the Jacuzzi, my therapist, Dominique, came to get me to go into the massage room. It was my first time getting a massage. Should I be completely nude? Should I keep my undies on? Dominique was super nice and answered all my questions. She left briefly so I could get undressed and get under the covers on the table.

Lumina_3

She was not kidding when she said she has a heavier hand. I asked for a lot of pressure and that’s exactly what I got. I got the Symphony Massage which is the most basic treatment. She used a lot of oil which she removed afterwards with a hot towel. I didn’t fall asleep but I was just so relaxed. I was in THE ZONE, sort of like an out of body experience.

I had such a relaxing time that I was sleepy all day and would just doze off at random times. My thoughts: a expensive massage is definitely worth it. I still have quite a bit of money left on my gift card, I shall save it for after my professional exams are over.

Pictures: Lumina Day Spa Website

One thought on “First Time (Full) Spa Experience

Leave a Reply

