LA, Here I Come!

LA Palm Trees

For the past few weeks, ever since the MIIS career fair, I’ve been job hunting. I was interviewed countless times, so much so that I was pretty much numb by the end. In the end, I was given two amazing offers. 1) In the language services department of a Fortune 500 company in the heart of Manhattan. 2) a small-medium sized language service provider in sunny Los Angelos. These two offers couldn’t be more different. The latter one paid more and offered more room for a raise and other performance-based bonuses. Yet the former one held the allure of living in the Big Apple.

I weighed the pros and cons of both places, talked to my professors, advisor, numerous friends, and family. Towards the end, it boiled down to one simple point. If I didn’t go to New York City now, when I had the chance and I was still in my early 20’s, would I regret it 20 years down the line? Would I kick myself for giving up the chance to live in the city that is so diverse and vibrant, the culture capital of the country, where dreams are made?

I thought about it long and hard, sometimes even thinking out loud. Pretty sure the BF got really annoyed at me towards the end and wanted to scream at me. In the end, I decided I am truly more of a realist than an idealist. As much as I would have loved to been able to live in New York, I would have been poor and wouldn’t have been able to afford things that made living in the city fun. LA was, financially, a much more logical decision for me. So this morning, I both accepted an offer and declined an offer. This is my first real job. Just thinking about it makes me weak at the knees and shake, with both excitement and apprehension. I know I will do fine. I have a great support system and I have a great future ahead of me, wherever it may lead.

The important thing is: I am officially employed! Time to break out the champagne!

Photo: from CovetLiving

3 thoughts on “LA, Here I Come!

  1. SM says:

    Hi Joan, congrats on your employment!! Your offers sound terrific. That’s a big decision and sounds like you made a good choice. Could you talk a little more about your job? What do you do on a daily basis? As a translator/interpreter, among the companies you interviewed for, are there upward advancement/salary raise opportunities? Is the salary good? How will your career change 5, 10 years from now?

Leave a Reply

