6 Months

6months_1

When I first told my close friends that I was dating someone, they were all ecstatic for me. Few of them told me outright (and I’m sure many more thought this, but didn’t have the heart to tell me) that, at the ripe old age of 23, it was high time that I got myself a boyfriend. A close friend even told me that if I didn’t get a boyfriend, people would start to think something was wrong with me. Here I was, a grad student, never had a boyfriend, never been kissed.

Was I ashamed of that? Maybe on some level, buried deep in the recesses of my subconscious, I was. But I didn’t let that get in the way of things. I always told myself that there is someone out there for me. All I had to do was be patient. In fact, it’s fairly easy to find someone to have fun with here at MIIS, but I didn’t just want a hookup. I wanted something worth my time and effort, especially in my second year here. As a second year T&I student, time was more precious than gold.

Little did I know, that shortly after my above conservation with friend, the BF made his move. I actually met the BF, as friends, back in the beginning of our first year at MIIS. But it wasn’t until this past summer that we became closer. Everything happened kind of fast, and before I knew it, we were dating. When we first talked about dating, I was young, inexperience, and stupid. I told him I didn’t want to label it. I didn’t know if he wanted to label it, or what “labeling” a relationship even meant.

Long story short, we are celebrating six months together today.

It’s been a wonderful, emotional, life-altering six months.I never knew I could care about someone this much that I would desperately want to take away his pain, sadness, or depression. I never knew I could be this happy to see someone, even if it’s only for a few brief moments. I never knew I could feel so at ease, so comfortable in the presence of someone else. I feel safe telling him my secrets, hopes, fears, aspirations. Around him, I’m not afraid to act like the immature two year old that I am deep down. I giggle, I talk to my stuffed animals, I pretend I’m a princess.

I am forever grateful that he happened to me. He’s taught me so much, both about relationships and about myself. I only hope that I’ve enriched his life as much as he has enriched mine.

Happy 6 months, babe.

Leave a Reply

