Thanksgiving 2013

I know this post is SUPER DUPER overdue, but please bear with me!  I cooked my first ever American Thanksgiving dinner this past Thanksgiving. While it was a grueling six hour ordeal (there were some tears shed), it was still a fun experience.

Thanksgiving1

Thanksgiving2

Blueberry pie is first because it needs to cool. Pie crusts take too long and too much effort so I just used store-bought ones that can be defrosted and rolled out. Blueberries are mixed with sugar and flour. The finished pie is supposed to look much better than this, but I had made the upper crust too thin, which resulted in it bursting in the oven. I always use a modification of this recipe for my blueberry pies. I usually add more blueberries, less sugar, and less lemon juice. It super yummy, whether served fresh out of the oven or cooled for a few hours. I also recommend having some vanilla ice cream on the side!

Thanksgiving3

Thanksgiving4

Next is the stuffing. First, diced veggies are sauteed together with butter and some thyme until they are slightly golden. Then the veggies are mixed with diced bread in a very large bowl. Some chicken broth is added to the mix. Once all the broth has been soaked up by the bread, the mixture is spread into a large baking pan and baked.

Thanksgiving5

Thanksgiving6

Last is the turkey. It has to be removed from the packaging and dried with paper towels, inside and out. This explains the picture with my hand up the turkey’s butt! The turkey cavity is then stuffed with sliced lemons. Melted butter is spread all over the turkey and two cups of chicken broth goes into the pan to be baked with the turkey. Roasting time is around 15 minutes per pound. This baby took me about 3 hours. I had to constantly pull it out of the oven and put more melted butter on it so the skin wouldn’t burn.
When the turkey was done, I placed it onto a serving plate. The leftover juices and fat in the baking pan is filtered and poured into a saucepan to make gravy. It requires a constant stirring motion on low heat until the mixture dries up into a ball of fat. And then slowly, I pour chicken stock into the pan, stirring as I go. The viscosity of the gravy depends on the amount of chicken stock. You can also toss in a sprig of thyme to spice up the flavor.

While the turkey was roasting, I went to work on the mashed potatoes. Potatoes are scrubbed and peeled and then boiled for 40 mins until they are soft. Then they are added to a mixing bowl with melted butter and heavy whipping cream. Using an electric mixer, the potatoes are whipped until they reach a consistency that you like.

Thanksgiving7

This is what my Thanksgiving dinner looked like. Friends also brought delicious homemade crepes. For recipes, I used a combination of this and this.

Until next year!

Photo credits: All by me and the BF with my Nikon D90

Leave a Reply

