Addicted to Website Building

I have a problem. Whenever I find something I’m really into, I get super addicted for a few days or maybe a few weeks. But then I get sick of it really quickly. Well, recently, I got into website building. It kind of started with blogging. I started a personal blog, on Blogger, two years ago. A little more than a year after that, I migrated to WordPress, to this location.

Even though I’m not always consistent with posts or updating content, blogging is never far away from my mind. Over the summer, sheer coincidence presented me with the task of building several websites all within the same week or so.

As the newly elected Communications Director for the Student Council, I was working on the Student Council website over the summer. But I didn’t really go into full-on crazy mode until last week. After constantly badgering the wonderful DLC (MIIS’s new media/technology center) staff, I managed to get the site to look a little more like what I had envisioned.

One of my other projects, assigned to me by  my on-campus workstudy supervisor, was to transfer an already existing website over to WordPress. Although I am familiar with WordPress, I never had to install it from scratch, nor did I have to deal with web hosting before. My supervisor was of little help (which was why she had me do it in the first place.) But after many days of trial and error, Google, and the wonderful world of Youtube help videos, I was able to successfully set up her website with the original content and link everything correctly. Next week, I may even set up some emails under the domain name. While all of this may seem insignificant to some, it was personally a very large breakthrough for me. I just get so much joy from creating websites and making everything organized and pretty. Whenever I solved a problem that had me stumped all afternoon, I got a HUGE rush and had a high that lasted several hours. Yes, I appear to be showing the signs of an addiction.

Another website project I am excited to work on is my professional website. With the daunting task of seeking employment looming, I thought it would appropriate to set up my own website to showcase my skills and any past work. I am still in the stages of deciding on a domain name and have been polling several of my friends, but I can’t make up my mind. Once that problem is solved, I should be good to go.

Leave a Reply

