Decline of the Taiwanese Youth

Yesterday, a friend shared an alarming article with through via Facebook. I had seen it making it rounds on my Facebook friends, shared by a few Facebook friends I didn’t know well enough (or didn’t care for enough) to click on and read. But because this particular friend had shared it with me, I read it. Here is the link if you are interested.

For those who are too lazy to read, I can provide you with a brief synopsis. It is a collection of poorly written English posts by foreign nationals or ABC’s (American Born Chinese) who are/were living in Taiwan. These posts complain about myriad of issues, but mostly about how narcissistic and downright idiotic Taiwanese women are. These guys say Taiwanese women are only good for fucking and that they don’t talk about anything else besides money, clothes, etc.

Let me just say, right off the bat, I don’t completely disagree with these bitter disgruntled individuals. I’ve witnessed too many “Western” guys coming to Taiwan and just screwing as many Taiwanese girls as possible. Yes, some Taiwanese girls are easy, especially when it comes to foreigners. They have this weird delusion that foreigners are better, richer, more superior. To be blunt, I think foreigners who come to Taiwan just to get laid are losers. It only means that they aren’t good/confident enough to get girls in their country and they resort to coming to an Asian country and jumping into bed with all-too-willing Taiwanese girls that don’t know any better.

But that’s besides the point. I blame the Taiwanese youth for projecting this image. I blame us for not being curious, I blame us for not being more intellectually adventurous, I blame us for not being thirsty for knowledge, I blame us for being blindly driven by money and fame and power. I’m not trying to be self-righteous. I enjoy reading fashion magazines just as much as the next girl. I’m a self-proclaimed shopaholic. But at least I try. I know I’m lacking so I make an effort. I want to learn more about philosophy, about medicine, about politics, about history. So I read, I explore, I think, I ask questions. That’s all I ask of my generation of Taiwanese young people. Ask questions, be skeptical of what is forced on you. Read, think, search, care. The result isn’t even the most important part. All that matters is that you tried your damn hardest.

Leave a Reply

