Throwback Thursdays: College Dorm

Joan's postcard   One of our simultaneous interpretation assignments was to record a little speech about a postcard so other classmates could use it as practice material. I chose this one that  a friend had sent to me from NTU earlier in the year. It was a picture of the dorm I lived in for all four years of undergrad. This building complex symbolizes turning points and experiences in my life. This was the place I lived the first time I ever lived away from home. I remember my footsteps would always echo down the hallway around Chinese New Year because everyone had already went home.

Under the tree in the foreground is a stone bench. It was on this bench where I helped a friend survive a painful break up. It was on this bench where I tried to convince a friend to end an abusive relationship. It was in this building where one of my closest friend came out to me. It was in this building where I had small drinking parties and played UNO. It was in this building where I pulled many all-nighters to pass finals.

This building carries a lot of the experiences that shaped me into who I am today. It was my home away from home.

 

Leave a Reply

